• Donate to T.B.F.

T.B.F. is dependant on donations from users like you! Thank you to those that have made a donation! All donations go back into upgrading the site!

25% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
flybum

FLY FISHING

flybum

It seems that many people here fly fish for brookies and steelhead. PERIOD. Anyone ever try targeting other species?

there should be a section for fly fishing where us "folk" can share patterns, spots, techniques etc...

(unless there is and i havent found it yet)

wondering if there are ANY other fly fishing enthusiasts out there!!!!???!?

-Bryan

Guest FreshwaterFisherman

I do quite often. I'm am sure a few other members do as well. I am somewhat new to the sport but I have caught more walleye and bass than anything. The mouth of the current river is a nice fly fishing spot and I have not left without catching at least a fish on the fly each trip. Sometimes I catch a ton. One of the reasons I took up fly fishing was to target multiple species. It's hard to beat an aerial display from a 4 lb smally on the fly. Walleye are also more than happy to hit streamers.

Castnblast

hey, for sure alot of guys on this site fish fly gear.

BT & steelhead are great, but pike are super fun to fish on the fly. Post spawn, spring fish, in shallow warm water bays are a no brainer and alot of fun.

Bass are are real suckers for a surface fly too.

good luck!

TroutHunter

i am new to the sport as well and ATTEMPT fly fish for quite a few different species... brookies, steelhead, salmon, walleye, pike and smallmouth... all are a ton of fun to catch!!

** People often ask me why I like hunting and fishing so much... I tell them that those are the only places where my mind doesn't think.... You should really try it sometime! **

flybum