• Donate to T.B.F.

T.B.F. is dependant on donations from users like you! Thank you to those that have made a donation! All donations go back into upgrading the site!

25% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Weekend coaster

Fly fishing advice

Weekend coaster

Dear board members I have been fishing with spinning gear for many years now and was hoping to try fly fishing Lake Superior points and peninsulas for steelhead,trout etc. I was wondering if you guys could recommend the basic gear I would need for rainbow trout

Guest FreshwaterFisherman

I'm sure other will speak up as well, but I'd suggest a 7-8 wt with a large arbor reel, wff line, and streamers, egg sucking leeches, marabou streamers, clousers, bigger Mickey Finns. Wooly buggers. I've only done it a few times.

Weekend coaster

Thanks does the length of the rod matter ?

flybum

Does length matter... Hehehe...

A 10ft rod would probably do ya well.

Weekend coaster

I'm sorry if I sound stupid I'm just learning about fly fishing and I was wondering if you could fish a a smelt imitating fly on wff line of will it end up floating

flybum

You didn't sound stupid at all... You just can't hear my immature tone and childish giggle... I started fishing with a 10ft , 8wt combo. Wff is totally fine, it will be the most versatile for you. If you wanted to spend the buck and get a spool of intermediate and a spare spool for your reel, have at'r ! But wff would be your best bet. You. Can always attach a section if sink tip, plus your leader and tippet.

You dont sound stupid at all, I'm new too, and I sometimes have questions I think sound dumb but that's part of learning. Good luck WC!

Weekend coaster

Thanks guys for your help

Weekend coaster

One more question this may sound odd but how do you know if you have a fish? Does the drag start going and the rod bends?