• Donate to T.B.F.

T.B.F. is dependant on donations from users like you! Thank you to those that have made a donation! All donations go back into upgrading the site!

25% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest borealboy

Mercury optimax vs 4 stroke

Guest borealboy

I am looking at a new boat that can be set up with either a 4 stroke or Merc Optimax (oil injected 2 stroke) motor. Both options seem pretty similar in terms of fuel economy, maintenance,power etc but if anyone has any hands on experience with both of these engines I would be interested in hearing what you think.

thanks

Trevor Zimak

I have been running an Opti for 4 years and my opinion is that the optimax is

- faster on the top end and hole shot

- has about the same fuel economy

- is much lighter

- and of course sounds better

The only negative I can think about is that you have to run the Opti DFI Oil, which is expensive, however you will use very little.

I've also had some expirence with the fourstrokes and they are relatively maintain free when it comes to winterization as compared to the Opti's .. just a little more to do with them.

Guest fishermedic

For what it's worth here is my two cents.

I researched the Optimax and Verado pretty intensly while I was boat shopping. At first (before I did a lot of reading) I was convinced that I wanted a fourstroke on my boat. My thinking was that the 4stroke would have better fuel economy, be quieter and involve less maintenance. Once I got into it I started learning that the advertising I based this on wasn't exactly how I had understood it.

As Trevor said the fuel economy is very close between the two motors. Neither one is ahead after this.

The maintenance during the boating season is close as well, like it says above post the winterization for the Opti is a little more involved, but again not by much. It's still a tie.