• Donate to T.B.F.

T.B.F. is dependant on donations from users like you! Thank you to those that have made a donation! All donations go back into upgrading the site!

25% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
TroutHunter

New To This Deer Hunting Thing....

TroutHunter

Hey all,

This is my first year of "actual" deer hunting. I've had tags before and drove around the bush roads looking for them while grousing but haven't harvested anything (a no doubter when blasting shotguns all day). This year I am devoting time strictly to deer. I am attempting the city archery deer hunt and have a stand set up on a friends property. There are a ton visiting the deer chow i have set out for them the last few days on the trail cams... Bucks and does, both appearing within 20yds of my stand generally at the same times every day (dusk and dawn, within 30min give or take). Problem is when I sit in the stand (i set up an hr or so before they usually appear) they are no where to be found... My friends dad said to place an article of clothing in the area so they get used to my scent while feeding on the bait (any thoughts??)... I've tried rattling, grunting, bleating, nothing seems to bring them in... I am set up in a tree on the edge of a small clearing, 2 or 3 game trails intersecting this clearing... Any tips (anyone tried Tinks Scent Bombs)? I am a patient person and don't expect to harvest one right away, but im a bit shocked that I haven't seen anything yet...

Thanks,

Adam

** People often ask me why I like hunting and fishing so much... I tell them that those are the only places where my mind doesn't think.... You should really try it sometime! **

Hurketthunter