• Donate to T.B.F.

T.B.F. is dependant on donations from users like you! Thank you to those that have made a donation! All donations go back into upgrading the site!

25% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Recently Browsing

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
Garbie

Cold Weather Diesel

Garbie

Looking to see what you guys to start your diesel trucks while out on the lake in winter? I can't get mine to the shack so I have limited options. Was wondering if anyone uses a webasto? Or maybe just a programmed remote starter? Any pros, cons, suggestions?

Kayaker

Throw a generator in the back if needed, plug in for an hour and your good to go. I am new to diesels but have had no trouble in winter for starting. although cold starts = more smoke <_<

Barrski
Looking to see what you guys to start your diesel trucks while out on the lake in winter? I can't get mine to the shack so I have limited options. Was wondering if anyone uses a webasto? Or maybe just a programmed remote starter? Any pros, cons, suggestions?

The old reliable propane tiger torch with a short pipe and elbow works great.

barrski

huntnfish

Make sure that you run light oil in the winter. I run 10W30 in the summer and 5W30 or 0W30 in the winter. You will also need to make sure that all your glow plugs are working. One bad glow plug and it screws up the timer and the cycle making your truck tough to start. Also good batteries are a must. No crank, no start. I have a Ford 7.3 and it starts no problem in -40. Hopefully the new Dodge can do the same.

mexifin

I have a chev 6.2 diesel, I use 0-30 (arctic oil)you can get it at the Petro Can by the Keg. Thick oil is what is hard on your starter and make sure you have 2 good bateries. you can also buy an oil pan heater but you need a generator for that.

uncle